Skip to content

Développement des Infrastructures des Data Center sous - tendant l'économie numérique

Project description and objectives

The project envisages the implementation of six Data Centers

– Burundi, Central African Republic, Sao Tome, Chad, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon- and the reinforcement of five

– Angola, Congo, Cameroun, Rwanda, Democratic Republic of Congo.

The project objectives are to:

Secure cyberspace and help create confidence in an increasingly digital world
Regionalize the exchange of digital data within the Central Africa sub-region in order to reduce the response time and the data access time

Beneficiary Countries: 
Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Republic, DRC, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rwanda and Sao Tome and Principe

Gabon, Rwanda and Sao Tome and Principe
Project Status:
The project is currently at stage S0 (Enabling environment and needs assessment). No technical, financial or environmental definition of the project has been yet developed. Nevertheless, the
ECCAS has been developing relevant policies and regulations in order to allow and support the development of the project.

Financial needs:
Securing funding for Pre-feasibility studies is needed for this project to move forward.

Private Sector Opportunities:
Private participation in the development of the ICT is gaining importance in Africa. There are examples of two types of private participation: contracts for design and/or build ICT infrastructure not consider PPP (e.g: DRC) and PPP contracts (e.g.: Gabon, Burundi)